Non-Persistent VDI Mode

In non-persistent VDI mode, each session is temporary. When a user accesses a non-persistent virtual desktop and logs out at the end of the day, none of their settings or data—including desktop shortcuts, backgrounds, or new applications—are preserved. At the end of a session, the virtual desktop is wiped clean and reverts back to the original pristine state of the master image. The next time the user logs in, they receive a fresh image.
When you install Traps in non-persistent VDI mode, the machine exhibits the following behavior:
  • Licensing—With non-persistent virtual desktops, the Traps agent receives a licenses from the pool of available endpoint licenses. The ESM automatically revokes the license when the user logs off, the agent is uninstalled, the session ends, or when the VDI is inactive for two consecutive heartbeats plus 25 minutes. Revoking the license frees it up for use by another Traps agent.
  • Connectivity—When the user logs on to the VDI machine, the Traps agent connects to the ESM Server to receive the license and to obtain the relevant updates. The Traps agent continues to communicate with the ESM Server throughout the life cycle of the VDI instance. The Traps agent only protects the machine when a user is logged in. When the user is logged out, the Traps agent disconnects from the ESM Server. During this time, Traps does not receive updated policies or verdicts, and does not send heartbeat communication to the ESM Server.
  • Verdict updates—When you identify the master image as a VDI, the ESM tracks all VDI machines that are spawned from the master image. When a verdict for a file that was seen on the master image changes in the ESM Server cache, the ESM Server sends the changed verdict to all machines that were spawned by the original VDI machine, regardless of whether these machines opened the relevant file or not.
  • Storage—With non-persistent VDI, many VDI solutions allow you to choose either non-persistent or persistent storage. With non-persistent storage, the user settings and data are stored for the length of the session and are wiped clean when the session ends or a user logs out. With persistent storage, you can select folders or specific locations that persist after the session ends.

Related Documentation