Persistent VDI Mode

A persistent virtual desktop is a one-to-one mapping of a virtual machine to a user and each virtual desktop stores and operates using its own disk image. In this model, a persistent desktop keeps all configuration changes and personalization settings a user makes during a session (such as, background changes, saved shortcuts, and newly installed applications).
When the user ends a session and logs out of the virtual desktop, the virtual machine preserves any and all changes and the next time the user logs on to the desktop, those changes are still in effect.
The process of deploying Traps in persistent VDI mode is very similar to deploying Traps on a standard server or workstation. To install the Traps agent, you install the Traps software on the master image and run it on the virtual desktop the same as any other VDI application. When you install Traps in persistent VDI mode, the machine exhibits the following behavior:
  • Licensing—Just as in a standard deployment, Traps receives an agent license from the available pool of licenses. Traps retains the license throughout the life cycle of the VDI instance, however, if the VDI instance is inactive for the length of time specified by the License Revocation Period (by default 90 days), the ESM Server automatically revokes the license thereby freeing it up for use by another Traps agent.
  • Connectivity—When the user logs on to the VDI instance, the Traps agent connects to the ESM Server to receive the license and to obtain the relevant updates. The Traps agent continues to communicate with the ESM Server throughout the life cycle of the VDI instance and continues to protect the machine when a user logs out. During this time, Traps continues to receive updated policies or verdicts, and sends heartbeat communications to the ESM Server.
  • Verdict updates—As with a standard (non-VDI) endpoint, the ESM Server sends verdict updates to machines in persistent VDI mode only if the file ran on the endpoint previously.
  • Storage—With a persistent VDI, each user runs a desktop session independently. The settings for users are typically saved to the logical desktop while the user data is stored on a separate logical drive. Both the settings and data remain after the user session ends.

Related Documentation