Admin-Level Commit and Revert

You can now commit, validate, preview , save, and revert changes that you made in a Panorama or firewall configuration independent of changes that other administrators have made. This simplifies your configuration workflow because you don't have to coordinate commits with other administrators when your changes are unrelated to theirs, or worry about reverting changes other administrators made that weren't ready. When you want to activate, save, or revert some of your own changes but not others, you can also filter by configuration locations. For example, you might want to commit changes only for specific virtual systems, device group, templates, or Collector Groups.
The commit, validate, preview, save, and revert operations apply only to changes made after the last commit. To restore configurations to the state they were in before the last commit, you must load a previously backed up configuration .
For any custom administrator role, you can enable or disable the privileges to commit, save, or revert the changes of other administrators. When configuring custom roles , note that your selections for commit privileges also apply to revert privileges.
  • Commit admin-level changes on the firewall.
    Click Commit, select Commit Changes Made By, and then filter by:
    • Administrator—Click the adjacent link and select the administrators. This option is available only if your administrative role has the privilege to commit the changes of other administrators. Otherwise, you can commit only your own changes.
    • Configuration location—In the Commit Scope, clear the check boxes for any changes that are not ready to activate.
    After you finish filtering, Commit the selected changes.
    commit_admin-level.png
  • Commit admin-level changes on Panorama and push the changes to managed firewalls and Log Collectors as part of the same operation.
    Select CommitCommit and Push, select Commit Changes Made By, and then filter by:
    • Administrator—Click the adjacent link and select the administrators. This option is available only if your administrative role has the privilege to commit the changes of other administrators. Otherwise, you can commit only your own changes.
    • Configuration location—In the Commit Scope, clear the check boxes for any changes that are not ready to activate.
    By default, the Push Scope includes all the device groups, templates, and Collector Groups that have configuration changes. However, you can Edit Selections to filter what the push operation will include.
    After filtering the Commit Scope and Push Scope, Commit and Push the selected changes.
    commit_and_push.png
    To commit changes on Panorama that are not ready to activate on firewalls and Log Collectors, select CommitCommit to Panorama. When the changes are ready to activate, you can then select CommitPush to Devices. When pushing configurations to managed devices, Panorama 8.0 pushes the running configuration, which is the configuration that is committed to Panorama. Therefore, you must commit changes to Panorama before pushing those changes to managed devices.
  • Save admin-level changes on the firewall or Panorama.
    Select ConfigSave Changes, select Save Changes Made By, and then filter by:
    • Administrator—Click the adjacent link and select the administrators. This option is available only if your administrative role has the privilege to save the changes of other administrators. Otherwise, you can save only your own changes.
    • Configuration location—In the Save Scope, clear the check boxes for any changes that are not ready to save.
    After you finish filtering, Save the selected changes.
    save_admin-level.png
  • Revert admin-level changes on the firewall or Panorama.
    Select ConfigRevert Changes, select Revert Changes Made By, and then filter by:
    • Administrator—Click the adjacent link and select the administrators. This option is available only if your administrative role has the privilege to commit and revert the changes of other administrators. Otherwise, you can revert only your own changes.
    • Configuration location—In the Revert Scope, clear the check boxes for any changes you do not want to revert.
    After you finish filtering, Revert the selected changes.
    revert_admin-level.png

Related Documentation